Product added to basket

  • logo
  • 0 0

Nominees for "Public library of the year"

1 July 2016 / Project news

Four libraries have been nominated for the prize as the world's best new public library

The prize "Public Library of the Year 2016"  is awarded by the Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces as a part of the Model Programme for Public Libraries. The target group is public libraries, i.e. municipality libraries.

The library must be a newly-built or refurbished in buildings that have not previously been used as a library. The opening of the new library must have taken place in the period between 1 January 2014 and 1 June 2016. The prize is for $5000.

The prize will be awarded at the annual meeting of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) in Columbus, Ohio, USA on 15 August. The four nominees are:

  • Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA
  • Dokk1, Aarhus, Denmark
  • Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australia
  • Success Public Library, Australia

Read more about the prize

Read more about DOKK1